New Minerals and Mineralogy

in the 21st Century
International scientific symposium Jáchymov 2016
3. – 5. September 2016

Journal of Geosciences

An open-access journal, published by the Czech Geological Society (, indexed e.g., by: Citation Index Expanded (IF = 1.405), Current Contents (Physical, Chemical & Earth Sciences), Scopus, ProQuest, GeoRef, Geobase, Chemical Abstracts, EBSCO.


New minerals and mineralogy in the 21st century. A special issue arising from the international mineralogical symposium Jáchymov 2016

Guest editors: J. Plášil (Institute of Physics, ASCR, v.v.i., Prague),
F. Laufek (Czech Geological Survey, Prague)

The municipality of Jáchymov is going to celebrate 500 years anniversary since its foundation in 1516. On this occasion, an international scientific conference will be organized, reflecting a world-fame of the Jáchymov ore district, renown for immense richness and diversity of minerals found there.

We are pleased to announce that a forthcoming special issue of Journal of Geosciences will be devoted to latest aspects of study of new minerals and mineral systems.

We would like to invite submissions of your extended talks from the symposium in the hope to assemble a state-of-art publication on modern mineralogy and crystallography, namely dedicated to actinide sciences and new minerals.

Instructions to Authors and Microsoft Word manuscript template are available to download at the journal website,, in order to facilitate the submission procedure. If you intend to submit a manuscript to the special issue, please, indicate your interest and send provisional title(s) of your paper(s) to one of the guest editors by September 15, 2016. Manuscripts will be accepted for review until end of November 2016 and will be published online by April 15, 2017 and printed soon thereafter. All manuscripts will be the subject of a standard peer review by at least two international specialists in the field. We are looking forward to your contributions to this issue.

Vojtěch Janoušek (Editor-in-chief, [javascript protected email address])

František Laufek ([javascript protected email address])

Jakub Plášil ([javascript protected email address])